6 Week Introduction to Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga With Ruth Saturday 30th September - 11th November. (No class 14th October ) 11.30-12.45pm

Ashtanga Yoga

In Patanjali's Yoga Sutra, the eightfold path is called ashtanga, which
literally means “eight limbs" (ashta=eight, anga=limb). These eight
limbs/steps (Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana
and Samadhi) basically act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and
purposeful life.
This method of yoga is known to the modern world thanks to Sri K. Pattabhi
Jois (1915-2009). The practice involves synchronizing breath with
movement which produces internal heat and a profuse, purifying sweat that
detoxifies muscles and organs. The result is improved circulation, a light
and strong body, and a calm mind.

"The full ashtanga system practiced with devotion leads to freedom within
one's heart" - Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.

In the course we will consider the 5 core pillars of ashtanga practice:
• Asana
• Vinyasa
• Ujjai breath
• Dristi
• Bandhas

Ruth Preston has practiced yoga for nearly 20 years, exploring hatha,
vinyasa flow, Scaravelli, Bikram, Yin, Zen and Ashtanga. In recent years
Ruth has practiced with Adam Keen at the Light Centre Moorgate and with
David Swenson one of Sri K. Pattabhi Jois' first students.

Date:- Saturday 30th September - 11th November (No class 14th October)

Time:- 11.30 - 12.45pm

Cost:- £66.00 (Drop-in £13 subject to availability).

Teacher: Ruth Preston

Date: Saturday, 30 September 2017

Pay and book